Gillespie County Extension Office typically offers the Pesticide Private Applicator Training course in June and December of each year. The next course offering is:
- February 7 at the Gillespie County Extension Office beginning at 8 a.m., there will be a Private Applicator’s Training Course for those that wish to obtain their private applicator’s license. The cost will be $75. It is encouraged to pay ahead of time in order to obtain the necessary study materials before attending the training. The $75 will include the costs for study materials. The deadline to pre-register is February 1. To register or for more information, give us a call at 830-997-3452.
Pesticide Private Applicator Training
For detailed information regarding the Pesticide Private Applicator License, click here to visit the Texas Department of Agriculture’s webpage. You can find information on licensing requirements, training, testing, and re-certification.
Pesticide Private Applicator Training courses are typically offered in June and December each year in Gillespie County. We will post the next course offering above and on the Events tab on our website as soon as the next course has been scheduled. If you would like to RSVP for a course, please contact the Gillespie County Extension Office at 830-997-3452. You can pick up the course and exam study materials ahead of time by coming to the Extension Office and purchasing them.
Once the participant has completed the training course and passed the TDA private applicator exam, the participant will submit an application along with the licensing fee.
Online Texas Private Applicator Training Course
To access the online Texas Private Applicator Training Course, please visit https://agriliferegister.tamu.edu/productListingDetails/2099.
General Information on the TDA Private Pesticide Applicator License
If you have misplaced your renewal notice you can contact TDA and ask them to resend another invoice by calling (877) 542-2474. Your license will expire on the 5 year anniversary of when you received your license. During the 5 years you must get 15 hours of continuing education units of which 2 hours must be in laws and regulations and 2 hours in integrated pest management. The remaining 11 hours can be in general or any category including IPM or L&R.
You must maintain the CEU certificates on file for one year following renewal of your license, in case of an audit by TDA. License renewal fees increase after 90 days and 120 days following renewal. 2015 renewal fees are (0-90days – $60, 90-120 days $90, 120-365 days – $120). If your license is expired for over one year you must contact TDA to get renewed.
If you would like to know of CEU opportunities outside of your county, you may contact the Texas A&M Agrilife Extension offices in neighboring counties or go to the TDA website at: http://ceusearch.texasagriculture.gov/ . Individuals may receive up to 10 hours of CEU’s online.
Record Keeping Requirements
Record Keeping Forms